TOPIC # 48 People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work?

In current years, most television and newspaper reports are mainly on challenges and drawbacks instead of focusing on positive events. It is thought by some that it is dangerous to not only the country but it’s residents. I completely agree with this viewpoint Broadcasting negative news stories about a society can obstruct ties and aid with other countries. That is, most foreign countries will not want to partner with the home country for development or even render help. They will be portrayed as a derailing society, hence most countries will avoid them. In fact, partnering states will likely cut ties with societies with bad reputations. For example, USA threatened to end partnership with Nigeria in 2019 if they do not rectify some highlighted terrible news aired about them. In addition, people might not school or work in that country and it will affect their economy, Furthermore, repetitive problematic news also poses risks for an individual, especially the youths. Breaking news stories about major crime can serve as an eye opener for them to learn to commit and even invent similar atrocities. They will assume terrible acts are cool because majority of news stories are mostly about problematic situations. For instance, Punch newspaper reported an imitated cyber crime where the perpetrator heard about it on television news. These kind of news should have been thoroughly investigated and stopped without being aired as it can make individuals feel unsafe and loose hope in the country’s progress at large. In conclusion, recently, majority of broadcast focus on problems and neglect positive innovations. I strongly believe that it will strain or end relationships with other countries and arouse bad intentions in people, therefore media houses should focus on stories that will uplift the society and its people.