Topic 3: the best way to resolve significant environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel.

It is true that humans are struggling to find solutions for environment-related issues. While a number of people believe that increasing fuel prices is the most effective one, I completely disagree with that point of view. On the one hand, we have other options that prove to be more persuasive approaches. Firstly, since many alternative sources of energy emerged in recent years, we have many choices which are environmentally friendly to replace fossil fuel. For example, Tesla, the biggest electric vehicle company, shows the world that their cars are not only cleaner for the environment but also more convenient for customers than the conventional ones. That fascinating success of such a young firm makes other automakers, which were founded for decades, to realise that sustainable energy is truly the future of the automotive industry. Secondly, the advancement of technology nowadays allows us to optimise fuel engine, and this means that we can reduce car emissions but still retain the performance. For example, hybrid vehicles, which are more and more widely studied, can convert waste energy into electricity during the operation, and it can replace the main power when needed. On the other hand, there are some reasons why imposing a higher tax on fuel not only is an ineffective strategy but also leads to consequences. Firstly, this policy will give a significant impact on poor people in low development countries, who mostly are farmers or fishermen. Spending too much on fuel, they will use other methods which may harm the environment to increase the revenue and compensate the cost such as using toxic chemical pesticides or overfishing. Secondly, the price is not the main reason for people to cut down on emissions. For example, despite the high cost of fuel, Vietnamese people tend to choose personal vehicles rather than public transportations, which are widely recognised means to improve urban atmosphere effectively. In conclusion, although some people believe that making fuel more expensive is the best way to tackle the environmental crisis, I would argue that we have better choices, which can overcome the side effect of such policy