Too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings. We should knock them down and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that too much money is being spent on looking after and reconstruction of old buildings. They think that getting rid of them and replacing with modern ones is a lot easier. In my opinion they are absolutely right, and we should remove old buildings and build new ones instead. First of all, modernizing and reconstructing an aged building is generally an expensive process, and sometimes costs even more than starting one from the beginning. For instance, in Japan, a country that is often hit by earthquakes, constructers usually knock of the damaged buildings down and start new ones, since it is more cost effective. Besides, new buildings can give a city more modern look attracting tourists and developing the economy of the country. Secondly, constructing a building from the beginning allows engineers to use the most modern resources. In other words, the best technologies can be used, as a result, making the buildings not only more updated, but also secure and safe. In addition, living in an old building is very dangerous, and no repairing work can be a guarantee that the building will not collapse without a pre-notice, leading to a massive incident. To sum up, I think the best option is to start a building from the beginning rather than repair an old one. This way a government can save and earn more money, ensuring safety to the residents.