TOEFL essay: Some people trust their first impressions about a person’s character because they believe these judgments are generally correct. Other people do not judge a person’s character quickly because they believe first impressions are often wrong.

In the last 30 years there has been a drastic increase in traffic, especially in bigger cities. This has led to a number of problems, such as air and noise pollution. In my opinion governments can address this problem in many ways. First of all, it would be necessary to renovate and add new bike paths while improving bike riders' safety, in order to encourage people to use bikes instead of their car. If a greater percentage of the population did so, this would make a significative impact on the air quality and congestion. For example, in Denmark many people use the bike to go to work or to school because Danish cities have efficient and organized streets with specific lanes and traffic lights for bikes. Another measure could be improving the city transportation. I consider this really important, since I think it’s one of the main reasons people choose to take the car, me included. Where I live, the city transport system is neither efficient nor reliable: there’s only two rail lines and few busses that can take you to the nearest cities or to a few spots in town, and the trains, in particular, are often delayed or cancelled. A third solution could be making the city centre less accessible to cars, by creating limited-traffic zones and by building shopping centres and other facilities outside of the centre. In conclusion, the government has a huge role in resolving the problems caused by traffic, but I think people have also to be responsible and try to take the car only if necessary.