Today, TV channels provide man’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows, why? Should TC channel give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

Today, sports media have been dominated1 by sportsmen, leaving sportswomen with very little attention. The main reasons for this lie in the prejudice against women doing sports, and the fact that men’s sports shows are generally more interesting than women’s, and I opine2 that equal coverage3 for both sexes is essential. One reason for women not being given enough coverage is the deep-rooted4 notion that women should not engage in activities deemed5 ‘aggressive’ or ‘violent’, as can be seen from many popular sports today. Images of female sports players competing against one another, several of which involve strong physical activities, are still considered unorthodox6 to many people, thereby rendering7 female sport shows relegated8. Additionally, sports involving men are, in many cases, more engaging and fun to watch. This is because men are innately9 stronger, more competitive and more aggressive, which makes their shows seemingly more sensational10 and dramatic11. Therefore, people generally prefer watching men doing sports to women, and the television industry can generate more profits12 from matches and contests played by men. I believe that such negligence13 is intolerable14 in today’s egalitarian society15, and therefore equal showing time for both sexes should be considered. The percentage of women’s participation in sports has been rising on an unprecedented scale16 in recent years, so they obviously deserve more public endorsement17. Achievements of female sports figures shown on TV can encourage those with potential to embark on18 their sporting career. Moreover, more showing time may attract additional investments from sponsors, which in turn may positively affect wage rates of sportswomen. Men have long been every well paid in the sports industry, and now I believe it is high time women were paid the same. In conclusion, the reasons behind male’s dominance19 in sports shows are the sexist views ingrained20 in some people’s mentality21 and the fact that men’s shows might be more appealing22. My firm conviction is that ensuring equal showing time is essential, for it can inspire those who wish to pursue sport-related careers and improve the lives of female sportswomen.