Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries.

People think teaching students the literature of their own country will be better instead of other countries. While I accept that students should be encouraged literature works of their own culture, I also believe that studying foreign literature is equally fundamental. On the one hand, when students are acquiring knowledge about their own culture by learning literature in their school, they are likely to enrich their knowledge and broaden their horizons about culture and tradition in their country. For instance, it helps locals improve their patriotism and feel take pride in their culture. Secondly, national literary works to give students an insight into their own culture. For example, through traditional literature, namely fairy tales, legends and fables, students can become familiar with their traditions, native terms and also national values which have been passed down from generation to generation. As a result, they will naturally develop a sense of national identity and patriotism. On the other hand, studying foreign literature is also advantageous for the following reasons. To begin with, it gives learners opportunities to expand their horizons by showing them a bigger picture of the outside world. Having access to foreign historical events and cultures, commentaries on politics, society, and stereotypes in literature from countries abroad will foster students’ awareness of the diversity of the world. Additionally, the students will be equipped with a broader range of knowledge to help them be more prepared for the globalized world that we are living in today. To be more specific, the students will have a grasp of the culture of foreign countries and how to adapt themselves in terms of manners, customs or behaviours if they live in that new environment or dealing with foreigners. In conclusion, it seems to me that there is a need to teach both local and foreign literature at schools so that students can develop comprehensively.