today, the highest sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of society in which they are sold

Nowadays, we can easily see advertisements everywhere from television to the streets. Some people believe that advertisement can boost the amount of consumption while others state that customers buy goods but they do not need them. In my opinion, I totally agree with the first idea. I will discuss both views in my essay. on the one hand, advertisement is a good way to introduce products. Companies can show features of their products to the customers by using television commercial. Also, products appear in advertisement with a gorgeous appearance beside a very popular singer or a famous actor. Moreover, advertisements keep repeating when people watch movies or listen to music on youtube and other websites. It always shows all the best features and good quality that affect customers so that they can easily make a decision to buy without enough consideration. I have a friend who usually buys products due to its advertising campaign although she does not really need them. On the other hand, people make their own choice to buy goods. Advertising can not affect them even a product is on-trend. Depend on how much their disposable income, they have to allocate their budgets before deciding to buy something. Individuals have different income and habits so nothing can affect their choice. In addition, no one can judge the products are necessary for society or not, so that consumers may not be swayed by advertisement. For example, Apple company always releases a new edition of iPhone, it attracts many people especially youngster. In contrast, there is a range of smartphones offer the same features or functions can meet the need of customers. In conclusion, I believe that advertisement can not affect someone to buy goods due to their incomes and habits. It is hard to say that today consumers make a decision based on advertisement and people buy goods even they do not need them.