IELTS Writing Task 2 Model Answer: Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

It is thought by many that products nowadays are being sold because of the powerful advertisings that are held. However, these sold goods do not reflect the need of society. This essay agrees with this due to the high marketing budget spent and the emergence of e-marketing. The amount of money spent on marketing for a product is very high compared to how much this product is needed by the consumer. Loads of cash are used to persuade the potential customer to buy a product partnering with influencers and celebrities they adore. This strategy is convenient and the consumers always fall for it. For example, Nike has spent more than 2 million dollars to market hideous shoes using one of the celebrities to be the face of it and this led the sales to skyrocket. On the other hand, the rise of the e-marketing has made the whole advertising easier and more accessible. Nowadays it is a lot effortless for companies to reach every client through the internet and their account on social media as those sites keep records of each registered person's interests. Therefore, these marketing strategies have been more effective than the usual advertising methods. For example, once I searched for a car to rent and by the time I was finished, my Facebook account was filled with ads of renting cars companies. In conclusion, people those days buy goods based on who and what influenced them through advertising and not by how much they need them due to the abundant amount of money spent on marketing and the easy access to all potential consumers through internet marketing.