Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

In the era that technology is thriving like nowadays, in order to quickly sell products, a company must be able to take advantage of advertisement to gain the public attention or to make people well-aware of their goods and services. Many people think that this is the sole factor contributing to the high sales of companies, however, in my opinion, that is not the whole story. Sales volumes are determined by many other crucial elements in which what humans truly need is included. In the first place, the importance of advertising, or being more referred as marketing, is undeniable in making products outstanding in marketplaces in the modern world. As the Internet has helped product promotion process advance to a whole new chapter, companies are constantly seeking for the best methods to publicize their images. In other words, managers’ mindset is that the more people know about the quality of the company’s products, the higher the sales volumes will become. That explains why the salaries, bonuses and rewards in marketing jobs are always exceptionally high compared to other related jobs, so as to attract more potential candidates who are fit for the jobs and able to make a great deal of profit for companies via advertising. Therefore, no matter how the world’s current business strategies change, advertising will always play an indispensable role in making companies profitable. On the other hand, high sales created only by marketing your products continually is impractical. Apart from solely doing so, another factor needs to be taken into consideration is to find out what people are in great need of. For example, companies should pay more attention in investing in searching for the market wants and needs so that they can provide the right products to satisfy the demand of the targeted markets. This can surprisingly boost company’ sales revenues as well as their reputation. By contrast, keeping advertising the products that customers currently do not want to use can not earn any coins, even damaging companies’ budgets by wasting on such unrealistic plans. In conclusion, high sales revenues indicate not only that companies have great practices of advertising, but they also point out that companies have supplied the right products to customers.