Today more people are travelling than ever before. Why is this the case? What are the benefits of travelling for the traveller?

Compared to just a few decades ago, the number of people who travel, especially for holidays, has grown exponentially due to changes in social classes and innovations in technology. In the following essay, I will explore these reasons and also the advantages that travelling offers to the traveller. The increase in travelling can be attributed to the rise of the middle-class in many emerging economies such as China and India. More people than ever are endowed with the financial stability and plagued with stresses of the fast-paced modern work environment, both of which incline one to escape the town. Also, with the increasing prevalence of smartphones and social media applications, it is easier to obtain information about prospective destinations and minimise concerns about accommodation, transportation, and worthwhile sights. Airways, on the other hand, are offering much cheaper fares thanks to the competition and efficient planes, which add to the affordability of air travel. Therefore, it is clear why tourist numbers have increased globally. Needless to say, travelling yields many advantages. Firstly, it broadens one’s horizon. Through meeting new cultures and learning about their ethos, one understands there is more than one way of life, which results in more tolerance towards others. There is also the chance to discover new business opportunities, for example a market for their national dishes in the place one visits. Finally, when one leaves town and takes a break from work or study, even for a few days, one can enjoy lower levels of stress. This results in a generally healthier person, physically and mentally, who can work with a performance boost after their vacation. In conclusion, changes in demographics and accessibility of information are contributing to the rise in travelling and those who do use the opportunity to travel enjoy the personal and professional benefits.