Today more people are travelling than ever before. Why is this the case? What are the benefits of travelling for the traveller?

Nowadays, more and more people are getting away from their homes to travel around the world compared in the past. For some, they just probably wanted to show off to their friends and relatives through posting their photos and videos of themselves while in those places to show that perhaps they can afford one. However, for the critically-thinking excursionists, they actually plan to tour because they know the long-lasting benefits of visiting foreign countries, such as sharpening minds and a healthier shifting of perspective towards life. One beneficial factor that exploring outside our own place is that it can sharpen our mind. In fact, being placed into a new environment engages a dormant part of our brains. For instance, when I was in a beautiful city of Melbourne in Australia as a student-explorer, I was suddenly required to navigate unfamiliar places, read British-Australian language, trying new things, made quick decisions and chose new eating and sleeping schedule. As a result, I became more alert. Another advantage of travelling is it can shift our outlook of life in a better way. Being exposed to new cultures and people will greatly turn our paradigm and create a healthier perspective once we return back home. For example, seeing different social classes creates compassion and really makes us feel more blessed and contented. Like what happened to me when I was in Banawe Rice Terraces in Ifugao here in the Philippines for a certain school project, I have seen most of the people there, living a difficult life. It is because they had to work the whole day under the sun for their rice fields and their homes had no electricity. So my hard day at work in the hospital suddenly does not seem so bad for me at all. In conclusion, I think that whatever our reasons to travel, it will always sure that we, trippers, will always have personal advantages. Two of these are to have an alert mind and a feeling of compassion and contentment.