Today more people are travelling than ever before. Why is this the case? What are the benefits of travelling for the traveller?

Travelling has witnessed an upward trail in recent times. This article explores the reasons behind the rise and also provides insights on the numerous benefits that travelling offers. Travelling is a trait unique to human species. No other living being undertakes a journey for the sheer thrill and pleasure behind it. The curious nature of man is the reason behind the urge to travel. As humans, we love to explore the unknown. Travelling provides an opportunity for it. Travelling is not a new-age phenomenon. Ancient travellers undertook hazardous journeys on foot to far-flung places, solely driven by their passion for finding out what lies yonder. With the development of the Maritime industry, sea-faring became the most sought after profession. Development in Automobiles, Hospitality and the Aircraft sector has provided a major boost to Travel. Distances that took months to cover can now be covered in a few hours. Travel is now affordable to virtually all classes of people. The benefits of travel cannot be stated in words. It is an experience that has to be lived and enjoyed. Travelling provides an opportunity to experience new cultures, various cuisines and meet different kinds of people. All these add to life’s rich experience. Another major benefit of travel is that it relaxes the mind. The more a person travels, his knowledge repository increases. During the course of a travel, one might experience unforeseen circumstances. The way we deal with them is to be taken as a learning experience. Lastly, Travelling has a lot of analogies with Life. Both journeys offer various kinds of experiences. Just as we gain maturity with each passing day of our life, so do we gain wisdom with every travel we undertake.