Today many parents force their children to study all kinds of course in their early stage. What are the reasons behind this? What effects do you think this practice would bring to the children?

In this competitive world, life has become a race, where everyone wants to be in the first position. Over-concerned parents start enrolling their children in various academic and extra-curricular activities at an early age. While few people assert that it is an excellent way of bringing up their children, others advocate that this practice may have a negative impact on the child's personality. In my opinion, this mindset in elders may influence the general behaviour of the younger generation. This essay will discuss the intention behind this approach and its side effects on the youngsters. To start with, the elders in the family want their child to excel in every field. To make today's generation, ready for the future, they expect them to gain the required skills before starting off their career. That is the reason, they start sending their offsprings to many technical courses during their school days. For example, due to this mindset, a 16 year old boy in India, is the youngest Data Scientist in the world. Apart from the academics, the parents expect their offspring to be multi-talented. To gain expertise in other fields, they enrol them in other activities like painting, yoga and tennis. On the other hand, there are certain negative effects of this approach. First of all, the small children gain knowledge at the stake of their childhood. As they spend most of their time in learning new technologies, they miss to enjoy all the fun and entertainment in their life. Further, the parents expect them to be proficient than others in the class, All these factors may result in mental stress. Apart from that, too much focus on academic courses may result in health issues like obesity. For instance, as per the survey conducted by the " Times of India ", 70% of the youngsters are obese, as they spent most of their time in learning new technologies and they pay give focus to their health. To conclude, I opine that to succeed in this competitive world, the younger generation should be highly competitive and multi-talented. But, this should not happen at the cost of their childhood. Along with the skills, enough importance has to be given to their aspiration and wellness.