Today, humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

One of the most challenging aspects of the 21st century is the difficulty in keeping a balance between work and life. Most of the population is struggling to maintain a successful and comfortable environment in their workplace and at the same time spend quality time with the family. There several reasons which lead to this unbalanced life. Firstly, in this competitive business environment, it is extremely difficult to survive if we are less ambitious and hence we spend more time at the workplace. Especially due to reforms in the education sector, more people are able to attend universities and the percentage of students who graduate with high grades and good educational qualifications is also increasing day by day. This it creates a threat to the existing employees because employers have the option of replacing poorly performing employees with better qualified fresh graduates and post graduates. In order to ensure their job security employees are forced to spend more time at the workplace, this in turn deducts the time they get to spend with their family. Secondly, people are more attracted to material comforts and in order to satisfy these cravings / these units, they are keen to work hard and earn more money. Spending overtime in the workplace will help them to earn more money as they earn overtime allowances apart from their regular salary. Unfortunately, this inability to balance life and work has become a serious cause various mental and physical health problems and conflicts in the family life. In order to tackle this, people should limit the work hours and spend the rest of their time with the family. The government can also take various steps such as conducting awareness campaigns about the risks of overtime working hours and the problems faced by the children of working parents. A strict law should be imposed in order to limit the working hours. In conclusion, keeping a balance between work and personal life is becoming a major challenge in this competitive society. Everyone should start to think of the value of our personal life and keep a balance between their quest for money and contentment in personal life.