To some people studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to learn the past? What will be the effect if children are not taught history?

Learning the history might not have any or little importance for some people in these days, but, the history and past can’t be ignored. The present is built on the pillars of past and only learning from the past can give us right direction for the future.   In my point of view, something that happened in the past, need to be learned to go ahead with the right decisions. If the new generations are not taught history, they will not have any respect towards the past struggle or glory of the country and thus they won’t become the citizens we want them to be. Learning the past is the knowledge we require to learn about the right and wrong. This gives us the opportunity to take the right decision for the future. If someone does not learn the past history, he will never have any respect for the country, humanity and towards the world. He will simply become a selfish citizen who won’t even respect the rich tradition of a country. To his everything would be like an automated and programmed system. Through history learning, children should be introduced to their country, culture, and tradition. This is hoped to become a first step to building a soul of nationality in students themselves. If children do not know the history of their country, they will have no idea how to build the nation. For example, if children grow up without learning the past of their country and become a future policy maker, they will never realize the need of their country and won’t be able to take a right decision. Secondly, students who learn about history will understand how their ancestors survived to get the independence of their country. So, from this understanding, children may have a good motivation to develop their ability in order to contribute to the building of their country; physically and mentality. Students without this ability usually will have a lack of contribution to their nation. For instance, the children who live in another country for a long time and do not learn about Indonesian history will tend to never come back to build Indonesia, even though Indonesian society needs their contribution. In conclusion, based on reasons mentioned above, history learning is needed by students to build their nationality and motivate them to contribute to their country. Learning the past is the first step to building a better future.