To some people studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to do so? What will be the effect if the children are not taught history?

There are some people who think learning history is irrelevant to our modern world. But, knowing the past makes us to avoid the same mistakes. On the other hand, if our children aren’t taught history, they won’t have any empathy how our society has been through. Firstly, the main purpose of studying history is not only things that already happened before, but also how should we address those things in the present. This makes the horrific incidents remembered and not been done again. For example, German schools teach their kids to fully understand what their ancestors have done during the holocaust and then, those children regret for those who lost their lives and always be the frontliner in opposing violence. This is one of the example that history can make us more peaceful. And because of this measure, the world has lesser conflicts than ever before. Secondly, the consequences of not learning the past are varied, but the most concerning issue is lack of empathy to our ancestors. These days, some children don’t even know when is the national day or who is our national hero. The worst of all is some people ignore the dark past, for instance, most of the Japanese can’t recognize what their soldiers conducted the mass killing of Nanking. This is the result from inadequate contents of history in Japanese classrooms. We don’t want to make the same scar, so we need to remember the scar. In summary, history is the tool to prevent the bad things occurred in the past to come out again in the future. Our children must be emphasized on how our civilization has gone through many events, both good and bad. So, the teaching of this subject is always relevant in today’s world.