To be a successful person, one must be open to new ideas and willing to change his or her mind

Some believe that it is pointless for public libraries to continue in existence as computer technology can replace all their functions. While I agree that digital technology can bring us a convenient and efficient way to access information, public libraries make their own contributions to societal development. On the one hand, the increasingly advanced computer systems have revolutionized information access by making vast stores of information on many worlds accessible via internet. Through digitization, we could store a quantity of information almost inconceivable at any public libraries, accommodating the exponential increase in the amount of published information. Also, the online sources of information such as the electronic version of prominent newspapers could help internet users to keep themselves posted on the most updated occurrences. This is vital because societal development is dependent on whether individuals and corporates gain speedy and timely access to what is happening around them or not. On the other hand, although might no longer be the only information center of communities, public libraries are worth maintaining because of their nearly indispensable functions such as a recreation centre and a cultural treasure. In fact, public libraries encourage wholesome and constructive use of leisure time thanks to their ample material and services for change and relaxation, including both books in all subjects and audio-visual materials. This is particularly beneficial for children as there is an increasing public concern about overuse of hi-tech devices among them. Moreover, public libraries significantly contribute to culture by preserving important cultural materials of humanity. Antique literary remains in public libraries, for example, serve aquarian research, thereby providing the people of a community a sense of their cultural past. In conclusion, being far more than shelves of books, the values that public libraries bring to their communities are still a positive recreation and culture preservation. Thus, this social community should be sustained in the years to come despite the dizzying rush of technological innovations.