These days, too many people maintain their health by relying on doctors and medicine, rather than following a healthy lifestyle.

Thanks to a free flow of information literally on everything, people now are more knowledgeableabout the ways to keep fit. At the same time, however, medicine is far more advanced than ever, thus making some people more reliant on doctors, rather than taking initiative to lead a healthier lifestyle. There has never been a better time for those who take interest in keeping fit. A wide variety of applications for our devices are being created almost on a daily basis, and most of them can be downloaded free of charge. These apps can do virtually anything from tracking one’s heart rate to urging individuals to do a certain sets of push-ups. Even if you are technically challenged, the fitness facilities available today are so appealing that you sign up in a heartbeat. All it takes, then is a sheer commitment. On the other hand, there are those who, due to various reasons, choose to let doctors worry about their health. For most of them, keeping a healthy diet or doing a regular physical exercise are not a top priority. The prevalence of fast food chains coupled with a hectic lifestyle, most people are unwilling to cook healthy meals at home, opting for a less time-consuming option even at the expense of far-reaching consequences of unhealthy eating. Others may simply be too lazy to be committed to a physically active life. Over-reliance on our cars and a sedentary life-style are making it even harder to lead a healthier way of life. Having said that, there are those whose health conditions do not allow being physically active, thus leaving them no choice but to be dependent on doctors and medicines. Although medical science has come a long way, individuals should not take a healthy lifestyle for granted. At the end of the day, the prevention is better than cure.