These days, people in some countries are living in a “throw-away” society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. Causes and problems?

One of the most critical problems in the modern world is a mass consumer society which people are choosing non-durable goods over durable ones and then throw them away in a short time. In this essay, I will talk about the possible things leading that behaviour and the problems it might be causing. Firstly, one of the causes is with the world’s economic growth, families started to have more income in their hands and more spending power. Because of this, it didn’t cost much to replace an item with a new one. For instance, instead of buying one high quality, long-lasting shoe consumers are constantly buying low-priced ones and then throwing them away. Furthermore, economists and business people are in charge of modern consumerism. They are using huge marketing and PR to drive people’s desire to consume such as “planned obsolescence”. The most significant example of this is Apple, which has made older models slower when they released new ones to make people feel they need a better one. Secondly, in the matter of problems, thrown away items will sit for good at landfill sites unless it is used by someone else or recycled, thus, the world is running out of landfill space. For example, Great Pacific Garbage Patch is a massive floating island of plastic in the ocean which is rapidly growing. These rubbishes are harmful for the environment and living being because of the climate changing. Moreover, buying disposable items end up spending more than to prefer durable ones which needed extra dollars in a short term. Because throw-away materialled goods are having an uneconomically short living, and they can’t be repaired. In conclusion, economic developments with marketing strategies leading people to throw-away society which describes an overconsumption and excessive production of short-lived, disposable items. This way of living, being harmful to the nature and individuals’ finance.