These days, people in some countries are living in a throw-away society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. What are the causes and what are the problems?

It is true that a throw-away society is growing in popularity in many parts of the world. This tendency stems from several factors, and its consequences need to be discussed. There are several reasons why consumers in contemporary society tend to keep buying new products and throwing old items. Chief among them is the mass production of shoddy products that are made of cheap and low-quality materials. These goods often have a short lifespan and fall apart after a few weeks or months. Many consumers baulk at fixing those products just because of the affordability of new items that are flooding the market. Another reason is that some producers rely on a technique called planned-obsolescence to manufacture their products. This means that these products have a certain lifespan, and they would go beyond repair when the time has come. Let us not forget our smartphones. The quality of such technological devices are likely to deteriorate, becoming sluggish and awkward after a few months or years. The throw-away culture mentioned above is negative in the main. Every product has a carbon footprint because it requires resources for producion and transport. For example, there would be water, fertilizers and fuels needed to grow cotton plants, transport them to factories for the production of textiles. This means that more products thrown away will add to environmental pollution, exacerbate concerns related to our surroundings. Apart from the environmental perspective, the rise of a throw-away society also sends a strong message to manufacturers to continue to exploit cheap labour in developing countries. If an article of clothing is sold at a low price, the worker who makes it cannot have a high wage, may be unfairly treated and suffer from poor working conditions. It is thus arguable that consumers are actually the victims of fast fashion. In conclusion, a throw-away culture is attributable to several factors. This culture has detrimental effects on the environment and on society as a whole.