These days, people in some countries are living in a “throw-away” society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. Causes and problems?

The topic of consumerism in our modern world has generated much debate as the product life-cycle is shorter than ever before. This trend is certainly the result of several factors and it can lead to various consequences, which will be outlined in the essay below. There are several reasons why the throwaway culture is something so trendy nowadays. Firstly, a bunch of production companies heavily invest in advertising and R&D (Research and development) sections and at the same time, design less durable items to encourage their customers to replace things with brand new models. As a result, these corps can be financially beneficial and effectively solve the problem of saturation market. Secondly, due to the stressful daily life, retail therapy appears to be an amazing way to lighten workers’ mood and release negative emotions. Nevertheless, this method has its own drawbacks as people buy and own more than what they actually need, leading to the unnecessary waste of merchandise. However, this tendency might bring about some serious effects on both the environment and family lives. Every year, thousands and thousands of garbage bags contaminate the air, the soil, the water which eventually results in health problems such as: cancer, respiratory diseases or cardiovascular problems. Moreover, in order to produce more goods, human beings keep exploiting natural resources and building more factories to the extent of ecological imbalance and climate change. In addition, only by working hard can people maintain their current living standards. Therefore, parents and their children will have less time spend together than they used to, partly contributing to the growth of divorce rates and family breakdowns globally in recent years. In conclusion, there are some causes behind the growing prevalence of a throwaway society. I believe that this issue are harmful to living habitat and the emotional aspect of individuals.