These days, many university courses are offered through the internet. Some people think that online teaching has more advantages than conventional classroom teaching or lectures, while others claim that there are significant disadvantages. Do the benefit of online teaching outweigh the disadvantages.

In today's globalised world, it is true that online courses are becoming a common feature of University education. Although there are some drawbacks of internet-based learning, I would argue that there are far more benefits. The essay will first demonstrate that the instant availability of a huge amount of information is the primary advantage, followed by a discussion of how it can sometimes lead to plagiarism. It is clear that there are certainly a number of accepted reasons who supported the positive sides of online teaching. Firstly, technology is a powerful tool to engage students, which can generate further interest for students in lessons. Secondly, students are able to study at their own pace also, study whenever and wherever they want. For example, a recent survey by Cambridge University found that students who are studying in distance more half of them indicate the good grades compared to traditional learning. Those opposed to this say that it causes to forget how to write by hand and spelling may suffer because of they utilise word processors with spell-checkers. Furthermore, in a real classroom, students have got the chance to foster a competitive spirit due to competition appears in a group. Moreover where virtual learning in place the punctuality disappeared, which is students can access it when they want and learn. In conclusion, although the studying by distance learning students are able to be productive when it comes to attend a class and brings cognitive benefits outweighs the flawed argument about to attend a classroom.