These days many us prefer to throw damaged things away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and keep them for a long time. Explain why you think this change has happened? What are the effects of this change in attitude?

The people of the present generation have been increasingly throwing things away. They believe in the concept of replacement rather than repair of the same items which were mended and used for a longer period in the past. This essay will discuss the reason for such trend and their consequences. One of the main reasons, according to me for this change is the pace at which newer products are introduced in the market. Companies nowadays are introducing new items at a faster pace to keep up with the competition in the market. For example, a recent study showed that individuals changing their cell phones every six months have increased by 20% owing to the introduction of newer technology each passing day. Another important cause attributed to this trend is newer items generate more attention amongst peers. For instance, having a latest model of Apple phone is often considered as a sign of superiority amongst the youth. These changes have not just discouraged people from learning new skills to reconstruct, but has also created an atmosphere which often causes financial pressure on them to maintain their status. Public nowadays throw away clothes very frequently if there is a small cut which could be stitched easily in the earlier times, is a classic example. Moreover, buying new goods to maintain social status leads to wastage of hard earned money, which can sometimes disturb the balance to maintain daily expenses, like replacing an old car with a new one when it is working fine. This is a huge change from the past. In conclusion, today we tend to replace rather than mend as we did in the past. The primary causes being a faster introduction of new items and to maintain social status, but these changes in attitude have reduced our abilities to learn skills and save our money.