These days many families move to other countries for work. Some people believe that the children in these families benefit from this move. However, others believe that it makes life more difficult for the children.

Although it is sometimes believed that the government ought to be responsible for the prevention of crime, other people think that it is only the individual’s responsibility to defend themselves. In my opinion, I consider that the public should be responsible for their own safety, not the government. On the one hand, some people argue that people should be responsible for protecting themselves and avoid making choices that put them at risks, such as walking alone late at night, and I agree. Therefore, individuals should ensure their belongings and houses are secure on a daily basis, and they have the responsibility to change their passwords regularly and keep their online transactions secure. To cite an example, a small company in Egypt has lost around ten millions of dollars because someone hacked its system. The reason for the hacking is due to the fact that the company did not upgrade its defence system regularly. Furthermore, people should take the responsibility to protect their own neighbourhood by reporting suspicious behaviour and setting up neighbourhood watch schemes. This can be done by learning self-defense and being fully aware of any activities occurred around. On the other hand, it is often believed that the government has the responsibility to deter criminals and prevent crime from happening. To put it another way, only the government has the ability to alter society on a national scale through the implementation of new laws and stricter punishment. This will lead to lowering the crime rates in society and bring greater rewards to society as a whole. Another reason why the government is responsible for preventing crimes is that it can allocate more funds to policing the streets and setting up more counter-terrorists units. This will result in reducing the potential attacks and make the country safer place to live in. Furthermore, the government is responsible for keeping the public informed about risks, and how those risks can be decreased. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I think that the public is totally responsible for their own safety by learning self-defence and reporting any suspicious activities in their areas to the authorities as early as possible.