These days it seems that an increasing number of people are leaving rural areas to live in the city. Discuss some of the effects of rural depopulation (migration from the country to the city) and suggest some ways in which this trend would be reversed.

Nowadays, there are more and more people who move from the countryside to urban areas. It is therefore worth examining the possible problems of this trend and suggesting measures that should be taken to address the issue. Migration from the country to the city has posed real challenges. A central issue is that leaving the rural areas to urban areas has presented severe environmental threats in cities. A large number of city dwellers leads to increasing demand for water, energy, as well as more pollutant output, which can contaminate the environment in these areas. In addition, the decrease in living quality in urban areas is another direct result of this phenomenons. housing, sewage and health care in a city have their own limitations, if the number of city inhabitants exceeds that limit, there will be someone who cannot have these basic living needs. Serious attempts must be made to remedy the situation. An effective solution to deal with the living standard problem would be to improve the living conditions in both the city and the countryside. More specifically, the government should improve the health care system, sewage system and boost the supply of affordable accommodation in urban and rural areas, so that people don’t need to migrate to the city to make both their and others’ living quality go down. Furthermore, a possible way to eliminate environmental threats on large urban centres is to promote ecologically responsible behaviour. Cities dwellers should be encouraged to use public transport, eco-friendly vehicles instead, reduce their energy use and their waste output, pollution level can be brought down. In conclusion, leaving bucolics to live in urban areas can cause environmental issues and a lower living standard. If people can join hands to help, these bad effects will no longer be the problem.