These days, in many countries fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools.

Nowadays, less and less students are opting in to become a teacher, especially in high schools. Even though there is a plethora of reasons why this profession is perceived as an unattractive, there are also some solutions how to tackle these issues. This essay will further explore this interesting topic, and suggests some solutions before it comes to a conclusion. Firstly, in some countries a teacher's job is a Sisyphean task, and highly demanding. After working so hard in the schools, they also take work at home to make sure they keep up with the curriculum. On top of that, teachers are expected to be a superhuman, and have multi skills, control over 30-40 kids, teach them everything, and be very vigilant. For instance, my sister is a lecturer, and she is exhausted teaching all those kids in her classroom, and as if it is not enough, she brings a ton of paperwork home, and continues to work till the middle of the night. She also has three young children who require her attention. As a result her own children left neglected. Moreover, if her students have behavioural issues, or academically falling behind, then their parents call her and blame her why she was not vigilant. This example shows that the teachers have increased range of duties, responsibilities, which make the curriculum overcrowded. Moreover, in some countries such as Findland teachers have an open brief to decide what to teach and how to teach. However, in many other countries teachers do not have this autonomy to decide, they have to follow explicit guidance. this means this system undermines the ability to be responsive and tailor teaching to a student's need. This can be so boring and directly contribute to the unpopularity of this job. Last, but definitely not the least reason is than teachers have poor salary. For example, in my country, teachers earn approximately between $200 to $300 per month, and this barely covers their monthly costs. These problems are not insurmountable. These issues could be solved by increasing teacher salary, report what a great job teachers are doing, and embrace them via the media. The government should invest in recruiting more teaching assistants. This means offering more help for teachers such as sharing the responsibilities between a teaching assistant and an educator would ease the burden. To encapsulate, while there are a myriad of reasons why fewer people have been deciding no to become a tutor, there are also a plethora of solutions to make this profession more appealing by sharing the responsibilities.