These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

Recently, in many countries, there has been a steady decline in the number of people willing to become teachers, especially in secondary schools. This essay will look at reasons for this downfall and propose some solutions. One of the main problems contributing to the lack of interest in pursuing a career in teaching is lower remuneration. In other words, salaries earned by teachers are lower compared to other professions. For example, a school teacher in Bangladesh earns a salary of 10, 000 taka compared to other professions where the salary is at least 25, 000 taka. Raising the minimum wage of teachers will significantly encourage people to take up teaching as a profession. Another cause that magnifies the problem is the difficult behaviours exhibited by the secondary level students. That is to say, adolescents, these days behave indecently by showing brash attitudes towards the teacher. Such misbehaviour and misdemeanours do little to motivate a teacher to pursue the profession in a high school. According to Psychology Today, 60 percent of the teachers feel indignant and dejected while teaching high school students. Which causes current teachers to quit and un-appeals prospective teachers. Rectifying students behaviours will encourage more employees to pursue the teaching profession. The final cause is the amount is workload; both on and off school hours. To elaborate, teachers often have to sacrifice their personal time to check student copies, exam papers at home. Doing so does not allow a teacher to rest and recover from stress, which is hazardous to both the psychological and physical well-being of the teacher. This eventually causes the burnout effect, where the mind and body cease to function properly. An ideal solution to kerb such effect is to improvise work-life balance by the respective school authorities. This will attract more teachers to the profession. In summary, lower remuneration disinterests teachers towards the profession which can be solved by increasing wages. Difficult behaviours by high school students demotivate the teacher causing to quit or disinterest potential teachers, which can be solved by rectifying student behaviours. Overwork detriments the mental and physical well-being of the teacher causing the burnout effect, which can be solved by improvising work-life balance by school authorities. All in all, solving the above-mentioned problems will appeal teachers to the teaching profession, especially in secondary schools.