Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals because individuals can do too little.

In the last decade, there has been an ongoing argument that politicians should take responsibility for the protection of the environment, since individuals are powerless to make a change. Although political figures should place a premium on environmental protection, individuals are to jointly share this burden. There are a number of reasons to believe that politicians play a crucial role in mitigating pollution. First, since environmental degradation is caused by heavy industrialisation, only the government has sufficient authority to hold these factories accountable. For example, by imposing environmental taxes on industries which are consuming a great deal of fossil fuel, the state can curb their carbon emission and force them to use renewable energy. Second, only the government can organise and finance, environmental movements at a large scale, which proves to be much more impactful than an individual’s effort. In fact, since no single citizen can attract enough funds as well as support for a significant change without political aid, their endeavour may be in vain. Nevertheless, individuals are set to shoulder the burden of environmental protection in tandem with politicians. First, since they are the building blocks of society, the common citizens are the driving force needed for every transformation. In fact, any environmental movement, regardless of its scale, requires the support of the public, which means that individual involvement is imperative for every significant victory in the war on pollution. Second, individuals are the most vulnerable before environmental degradation, which implies that they should be in pole position to combat it. This means that pollution puts peoples' lives in jeopardy, inducing them to make a stand and protect the environment in which their well. In conclusion, although political initiatives are of paramount importance to environmental protection, public support is not to be overlooked. Politicians and individuals should join forces for the betterment of the environment.