These days children spend more time on doing homework or participating in school-related activities or sports. However, they should be given more time to do whatever they want.

The past several decades have witnessed the booming quality of education. Under this circumstance, the growing numbers of people trigger a heated debate about whether children should be given more time to do whatever they like in order to cultivate well-rounded students. Some people harbor the opinion that students should have the rights to decide what they should do. Other individuals, however, view this issue from a different angle and conceive that doing homework and taking part in activities benefits students a lot. Taking these two views into consideration, I highly sympathize the latter one and the following paragraphs will testify to the credibility of this argument. To begin with, from the most convincing reasons from the supporters, one must be stressed is that doing homework is a good way to improve students' study efficiency. As we know, as a student, we should spend approximately ten hours a day at school on taking a variety of classes, such as science course, liberal arts, mathematics, etc. and preparing the different kinds of exams. In this circumstance, it is impossible for students to absorb all knowledge in class due to the tons of new knowledge that need to be acquired. Thus, the best way for us is that only by doing homework can we have a deeper and better understanding of the school work. Just in this way, we could stand a fair chance to get better scores in exams. In the long run, it definitely benefits students' graduation. Consequently, only by doing homework can students have a happy school life and a brighter future. In addition to the importance of doing homework, I have to notice that it is convincing to lend credence a view that to consider participating the activities in school would be the guarantee for students' mental and physical health because they have a great chance to cultivate some crucial qualities and values through the activities. Besides that, it provides students a previous opportunity to do exercise which can strengthen their physical conditions. Taking playing football, as an example. Students usually form a team to compete with the other team through playing football. Through taking part in the team, they view themselves as team members. What is more, an excellent football team seems like a sophisticated instrument: Midfields are responsible for attacks; Strikers attack and sore goals; Defenders are trying to prevent the opponents to get into the box; Scorekeepers tries to keep the sheet clean. During playing football, students know what the sports spirit is, which is being stronger and being higher. Furthermore, they cultivate the spirit of persistence and endurance due to they need to copy with different kind of difficulties like boring, tiredness and uncomforted. Besides, by playing football, students sweat a lot which is another chance to take a rest and enhance their body conditions. However, I am not denying the benefits that letting themselves choose whatever they want can boost their happiness. But most of the students are immature, it might be difficult for them to distinguish right from wrong. Under such circumstance, no one can guarantee that they would not be trapped into bad behaviors like violence and drug. In this way, compared with staying in school and finishing their homework and being the part of school activities, it is not wise to allow students to follow their true callings. To sum up, I highly support the argument that our students should spend a lot of time on school work and motivate ourselves to participate in school activities. Since only by doing this can we have a better body condition and live a happy life, which will lead a brighter future than before.