There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed.

The number of serious offences being reported is growing each year. Some argue that the key solution to this issue is to apply capital punishment, whereas many people claim that other measures should be implemented. I will discuss both points of view in this essay. The argument for capital punishment being employed to tackle the growing crime rate is that as part of human’s nature is to be scared of death, thus the death penalty deters potential criminals from doing unlawful acts. For example, the Independent, a world-famous newspaper, has once reported that nearly 70% of people in Vietnam never committed a crime in their life, because they are afraid of facing a death sentence. As a result, the crime rates in Vietnam have declined significantly, which has lifted public anxiety about personal safety. Therefore, the quality of life of a society can be hugely improved if capital punishment is used. However, despite the arguments above, many commentators suggest that other kinds of punishment should be used. The underlying reason is that the recidivist crime rates are very high, thus capital punishment does not act strongly enough to stop people from violating the rules. Oxford University’s recent research shows that approximately 70% of criminals stand a high chance of re-offending after being released. Moreover, most serious offenders are heavy drinkers or drug addicts. Thus, When people take those addictive substances too heavily, they cannot think properly and lose their common sense. Consequently, they commit serious or brutal crimes without thinking they can be sentenced to death, so the death penalty is no deterrent for them. . Furthermore, as a matter of principle, it is immoral for people to execute others, regardless of how evil they are. In conclusion, in order to address rising rates of crime, some believe capital punishment should be adopted thoroughly, as death is something that frightens most people. Nevertheless, others argue that other punishments should be applied, because a death sentence will not act as a strong deterrent for the vast majority of recidivist criminals.