There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

Traditions and customs are in a state of flux nowadays. One result of these cultural upheavals is that parents in many countries are now choosing to have fewer children than in the past. In this essay, I will examine what I consider to be the main advantages and potential drawbacks, from both children’s and parents’ perspectives, of having smaller families. The benefits of having only one or two children are obvious. On a very basic level, a smaller family means more money and more time together. Whereas parents with many children tend to spend their days juggling school drop-offs, and extracurricular activities, not to mention work and running a home, those with only one or two have far fewer demands on their time and wallets. From the child’s point of view too, if they are an only child or have just one sibling, they will receive far more attention and emotional support than if they were battling with five or six others. This attention can have long-term benefits not just for their self-esteem, but in their academic and professional life too. Despite these positives, many people still consider a small family problematic. From the parents’ viewpoint, there may be concern for their own welfare in old age. Indeed, there is a risk when a couple has no children or only one, that there will be nobody to care for them when they retire or become old and frail. In my country, such people will often end up in state-owned aged care facilities, which can be less than luxurious. In addition to this practical matter, some people also feel that by having only one child, parents are creating selfish ego-maniacs. Rather than benefiting from parents’ attention as mentioned above, these youngsters can be over-parented and, some would argue, grow up spoiled and entitled. In conclusion, although families are getting smaller in general, whether this is positive or not depends on the individual. Personally, while I can acknowledge the potential problems, I feel that smaller families are ultimately better off.