There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

There is a paradigm shift in marriage trend globally in the settings of a nuclear family from large family size to small family size. Owing to the fact that it is easy to manage the financial implication of a small nuclear family as against the large family, but as good as it is they are drawbacks that needed to be taken into account. One major benefit of the nuclear family is the angle of economic and financial independence. This is seen as the major factor that propels people world all over to opt for the nuclear family as it brings about personal achievement and responsive parenting on the part of the parents. For example, a family with a small size can afford to send their offspring to a high-profiled schools in terms of academic achievement and also cater for the needs of their progeny. On the other hand, a major challenge is that children from small family often times find it difficult to deal with interpersonal issues as they may be timid and they may have to deal with issues ranging from laziness to other despicable acts. For example, a child from a small family may find domestic chores difficult due to the fact that everything is being done for them. In addition to the above, is the fact that they tend to find it difficult to speak publicly and dealing with people becomes an issue. Conclusively, while small family size has its major benefits of economic and financial independence, it should also be noted that there is no gain without pain as there also lies its drawbacks such as laziness, timidity, interpersonal issues and other challenges associated with it should be noted.