The first car appeared on British Roads in 1888. By the year 2015 there may be as many as 35 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

Developments in transportation has led to the widespread use of cars, bringing about major traffic congestion. Some people believe that there should be strong legislations to tackle this problem and I concur that this stand should be supported. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of curbing car ownership. Firstly, there are too many motorised vehicles on the road, leading to jams in the highway, therefore increasing in the amount of travelling time. This defeats the purpose of having a car as it was invented to improve convenience and decrease the time taken to travel to one's destination. Also, having too many cars on the road causes environmental pollution due to the exhaust fumes emitted from them. Not only is this detrimental to our environment, it is also extremely harmful to health and it could lead to health problems such as asthma and sinusities. However, there are cars that do not pollute the environment and one such example would be the hybrid car. They are eco-friendly and require lesser use of fossil fuels. In addition, countries such as Japan have started using electric and solar powered cars, thus reducing the dependency on a conventional petrol fueled vehicle. Cars are also convenient as it allows you to travel anytime without the worry of missing the scheduled timing that public transport has. In addition, the economy is also boosted in a way when more people purchase cars. To summarize, while there are developments to prevent the pollution caused by cars, I ultimately believe that road congestion is a serious problem and Governments should limit the amount of cars each household can own and develop a more comprehensive public transport network. Each family member need not own their own vehicle.