A longer prison term as a way of punishing those who break the law is not as good as other methods.

It' s a common sense that peple are sent to prison after violating the law. However, it' s not recognized as the best way to rehabilitate criminals. I hold supporting views upon this matter. There' s no doubt that it has deterrent effect on both potential and habitual offenders as well as a mean of resoling victims their families. But for the bigger picture, criminals' fundamental abilities can be deprived during a long priod of prison. Without these basic skills, people breaking law may find it difficult to seek employment after release as most criminals have lost backing from their families already. Thereby, to lead a life without proper jobs and income becomes a pressing issue for them. And on the side of the state, settlement for overpopulated people who have served sentences can lay burden on both resources distraction and economic advancement. Supplementary to it, the rate of reoffending have great possibility to increase for most prisons acts only as a role of enjailing law breakers rather than offer confessing and educational lessons. These jails, in a way, fail to achieve rehabilitation of culprits, some of which are just juveniles and first time offenders. Consequetly, these convicts might learn little of their offence and misbehave again. By comparison, community services are way more effective on reforming criminals. First of all through attending unpaid work as a punishment, offenders can cultivate new life skills such as repairing vehicles, which ensures that they can be hired by appropriate work after imprisonment and also furnishes human labour for auto industry. And with more participation in the programs, there will be fewer actrocities, contributing to extended peace of society. Overall, a long-term imprisonment can frighten lawbreakers yet community services demonstrate bigger influnce on criminals and the society.