Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.

Some people are of the opinion that the way peoples' choice to dress could provide us with insights into others' personality and cultural background. Having said that, however, I disagree with the given assertion on the basis of some compelling justification and in this essay, I am going to explain my reasons in detail. To begin with, one of the chief reasons is that the outfits that people wear are not always come from their choices. That is to say, many people do not have any options for their clothes due to some established conventions existing in some countries. Take Iran, which is an Islamic country, as an illustration, in this country all women have to wear hijab otherwise they could get punished; therefore, it is not easy to grasp an individual's character from their clothes. In addition, another reason that could account for it is that nowadays because of globalization, people endeavour to keep abreast of the fashion world. To put it another way, the more they are interested in branded clothes, the less they would wear their local customs. A recent study conducted in Paris has shown that because of the high demand for branded clothes, that outfit that people wear are not a reflection of their culture. All things considered, although it may be possible to find out about one's character and culture from their clothes, I personally take the view that it is highly unlikely to learn about a person from their attire.