There have been many technological developments in the 20th century, for example in transport, telecommunications and health. What technological development do you think has been the most important? How has it changed people's lives? Have all th

The 20th century has been the century of inventions and innovations. Fields like transport, telecom, medical, education etc. all have seen the phenomenal developments but one of the significant revolutions in the technology is the internet. The internet has changed the landscape of human life to an unimaginable level. The computer has made this planet just like a global village and created millions of employment opportunities. Firstly, the computer has transformed this planet into one family. Everyone who wants information regarding anything can access through the internet in just a matter of seconds regardless of his place and location. You can view of information, lifestyle, population and other geographical information of any country in the world. For instance, if I want to compare the top universities of the world it would hardly take a minute which would otherwise be not possible without this blessing. It is evident that the internet has shrunken this world like one home in which everyone is a family member. Secondly, the internet has created job opportunities for millions of people. Work options have been created in the form of web designing, web hosting, online product sales, software development and hundreds more which cannot be listed here. For example, the biggest company in the world which has the most expensive share in New York Stock exchange is none other than Google. This supports the logic that the internet has been one of the significant causes of job creation. However, there are some drawbacks also of this technology. Cyber crimes and fake business have entered in this world of internet. To illustrate that, many hackers have hacked the important and national security websites of not only third world countries but also leading nations like the United States. These cyber crimes are playing the havoc with the intelligence agencies of the world. Thus, it can be seen that these crimes are depicting the negative pictures of this technology. To summarise, the internet has truly changed the face of the world making it a very small one and giving the opportunities of millions of people to earn their livelihood. The internet has truly been the greatest development of 20th century. It is recommended that states should make tight laws to curb the illegal activity going on the internet.