There are various reasons for attending colleges and universities and getting a job is definitely one of them. However, many other reasons drive us to enrol in a college or university.

Formal education is a well-established method of learning and has been developed to highly mature form with the development of human civilisation. People attend colleges and universities not only to gain a degree or certificate but to attain various other goals. This essay will elaborate few of these reasons in below paragraphs. Firstly, learning and opportunity for employment are two most popular reasons why anyone goes to university. Deep knowledge on a subject makes a student more employable and suitable for the job. On top of this, colleges also provide venues for placements in their campus itself. For example, 90% of engineering students in India find their job in the recruitment events organised by companies in the college campus during the final semester of the students. Hence, students get doubly benefited by attending universities. Secondly, some people have an interest in research on topics relating to various aspects effecting human. So they opt for higher education in universities which are well placed with access to government funds allocated to research and inventions. Institutions like ‘Indian Institute of Science’ enroll hundreds of students in the doctorate programs each year and receive thousands of applications for the same. This shows that there is a great deal of interest in research among students these days. Other most vital reason for people attending universities is that one gets to meet with people of similar interests and a place where he gets newer ideas. There are many examples of entrepreneurs founding big organisations with partners they met in universities and based on innovation ideas which were seeded during their college days. As we see from above, every student has a unique reason to attend university or college. But the most popular reason why anyone joins college is to gain knowledge