There are social, medical and technical problems associated with the use of mobile phones. What form do these problems take? Do problems of using mobile phones outweigh the benefits?

Using cellular phones have brought people tremendous convenience and efficiency. Admittedly, if misused or overused, it may cause some critical consequences in social, technical as well as health issues for users. However, I believe that the advantages and disadvantages of cellphones involve how we communicate with one another, information access, and learning potential. Let’s begin by looking at the advantage of the portable devices. One of the main positive of mobile device is multi-functioned, allowing users multiple tasks simultaneously. People could, for instance, call someone, download the video and surf the website simultaneously. In addition to this, the cell phone could be used for improving one’s fitness through some useful application that can help through different fitness routines. It is not only a call, entertainment or data transfer gadget. Furthermore, these act as a torch, a recording device, data storage, calculator, calendar, camera, and many other utility features. In short, the mobile phones are replacing many other types of equipment and emerging as a one-stop solution for many requirements. On the downside, mobile phones emit infrared rays, which directly affect the body part exposed to. According to Australian Health Research Institute, use of mobile phones can lead to ear, eye and brain cancer besides some other disorders like heart ailments. Moreover, it has been reported that some people have been injured due the technical problems of the phone itself. There have been cases where the battery of the phone had exploded when it was used to make phone calls, and it caused serious injuries to the user. Lastly, even though mobile banking is one of the facilities the device has provided us, it also has invited numerous data hacking incidents. Only last year, in Vietnam, more than 6, 200 cyber-attacks of mobile banking error due to cybercrime were reported. In conclusion, it is true that handheld phone technology has caused some problems for mankind, but I do believe that the mobile phone has assisted the human being in various ways, and it is the irresponsible act of humans themselves that has caused the problem.