There are social, medical and technical problems associated with the use of mobile phones. What form do these problems take? Do problems of using mobile phones outweigh the benefits?

Across the world, especially the wealthier parts, the mobile phone has taken the place of telephone as an electronic telecommunication device, with the majority of the adult, teenager and even child owning one. As this technology has become rife, its drawbacks, which can be seen from social, medical and technical perspectives, deserve people’s greatest attention. Similar to many other hi-tech products, such as computers, mobile phones have detrimental effects on users’ health. For example, long-time heavy phone users seem to be more prone to certain types of cancers, although evidence to date is inconclusive. Another lethal health concern is the link between mobile phones and road accidents. It is argued that motorists have a much higher risk of collisions and losing control of the vehicle when driving and talking on the phone simultaneously, despite sometimes using hand-free systems. When the mobile phone has brought considerable convenience, people’s obsession with convenience has meanwhile caused enormous disturbance. That’s why the use of mobile phones has been prohibited in many public places, such as libraries, theatres, hospitals and even transports, such as trains, buses and aircrafts. Speaking at increased volume is considered impolite or even offensive. In schools, students are required to switch off cell phones before the class begins because mobile phones are responsible for a high amount of class disruptions. When its downside persists, the mobile phone has proven indispensable hi modern life. It is handheld, lightweight, portable and multi-functioned, allowing users to send text messages, exchange music files, make voice calls, browse internet, and so forth. Meanwhile, within twenty years, mobile phones are expected to be more pervasive as technical advances and mass manufacture will make them low-cost personal items. Given those factors, the mobile phone will continue to perform its role as a key social tool, by which one keeps in touch with others much more easily than did the generations before. As suggested above, the contribution of the mobile phone to the society is prominent and dependence on it for communication is an irreversible trend, although it has a number should be well handled.