There are problems with the increasing popularity of shopping as a leisure activity. What forms do these take? Do the problems outweigh the benefits of shopping as a leisure activity?

Recent upsurge in the habit of shopping as a recreational activity is not without its drawbacks. Consequently, In my opinion, these actions are displayed through window shopping, mall walking and subsequently via dress trials in the changing room, amongst friends who considers the act as a means of getting together. To begin with, shopping is generally regarded as a means of passing time. In fact people often go into the malls with the intention of window shopping. They walk around stores, glancing at products on display with a view of possible future purchases. In addition, there has been a relatively new trend of walking around the mall. This is indeed known as "mall walking". It sees people strolling around with the aim of exercising while making buying decisions. A recent survey conducted by the National consumers Association in 2019, revealed that 90% of customers who ends up shopping were only in the mall for other purposes which necessarily had nothing to do with buying. Admittedly, a prime drawback of shopping as a leisure activity is the tendency to spend more while going around a store. More so, when you consider the process as a means of relaxation, the probability of spending becomes high. However, making financial decisions while relaxed and calm has proven to be beneficial due to the fact that people can make wiser and started shopping choices while at it. Moreover, the likely hood if getting into any spontaneous or impulse buying while relaxed is greater reduced if not impossible. To conclude, the benefits of shopping as a pass time not only helps in making wise and intelligent preferences, but also reduce the possibility of random purchases. These obvious merits superceeds any disadvantage it might have.