Many people believe that having a fix punishment for all crime is more efficient. What are the advantage and disadvantages of having a fix punishment?

It is considered by some people that giving a fixes punishment for all criminal acts is more effective. There are certain merits and demerits of implementing a fixed punishment for all crimes. There are several positive outcomes of fixed punishment. To begin with, the fixed punishment is productive in the case when someone is influential or wealthy. Without considering the person influence, it is deterrent for people who are influential, as they would come to know that they would get a same punishment, no matter how much money or influence they possess. There are people who may manipulate the court decision, by the use of money, but the presence of a fixed punishment, the decision of the sentencing could not be changed in the court of law. This, in turn, means the criminal offences would reduced, as the results and punishment would remain the same for the rich and the poor. Another beneficial aspect is that fixed punishment for each crime, reduces the crime rate enormously. This is because due to the presence of the stringent policy regarding a punishment for a specific crime, it would be hard for people to think about a crime, as they would be aware of the repercussions of it. This, in turn, means when opting for a crime there would be no thinking about the ease in the punishment policy in the criminal mind. A recent report by the International Criminal Organization, for example, showed that after announcing an exact policy for each crime, results in reducing crime from 60% to 25% in Ireland. However, there are several downsides to this policy. Firstly, it is detrimental for people who opt for a crime or offence in defence. Giving the exact same punishment to a person who attempt a murder while defending himself or family members is disastrous for him. In other words, there are people in society who take an offensive action, owing to safe themselves from getting harm. Research by Oxford University, for instance, showed that 10% death sentences to people in Malaysia, are to those who have murdered someone, in the self-defence. Thus, it results in destroying the life of an individual and his family members. Secondly, teenagers may be affected badly by giving the harsh punishment for their actions, which they have undergone unintentionally. Younger people due to their inexperienced nature, may opt for a crime, which would be done from them, as they would not be able to avoid it, for which they may get punishment. This, in turn, would damage their character and is highly likely to motivate them to further crime. In conclusion, it is argued that a fixed punishment is having productive outcomes. The advantages of this policy are that the influential people would receive the same punishment and reducing the crime, as well as the drawbacks are that it may be disastrous for people who opt for offence in self-protection and teenagers may become highly vulnerable to further crime.