Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However some feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individual and on society?

Why almost every other person prefers to shop in their free time? There are both pros and cons while considering shopping as a priority. This essay will discuss several reasons as well as the effects on society and on an individual. Modern lifestyle choices are in demand and the main causes of growing popularity in shopping. Advancement in technology at a marketplace not only provides ease of access, but also numerous ways of shopping. Mega malls and different online apps are becoming an increasing trend as people can shop from phones and computers. They attract customers by providing an easy refund and return policy, free home delivery, discounts, and free vouchers. Additionally, as folks blindly follow their favourite stars. Many companies endorse their products by hiring celebrities, hence increasing demand for their products and brands. All these factors result in luring in people and encourage them to shop more and more. People are becoming Shopaholic which results in growing consumerism and have a huge impact in the development of society. The increasing trend in shopping activity will boon the economy and companies start producing better products at lower prices and satisfy the desire of the customers. This will definitely create employment opportunities. On the flip side, Shopaholic can be addictive and this may lead to people in debt. They start to buy unnecessary products and all their earnings go off in paying EMIs and credit card bills. As a result, they have no money left to save at the end. To conclude, shopping activity has increased because companies use modern technologies and platforms to sell their products. Hence, people start spending on products they don't want and put pressure on themselves. Shopping is essential and inevitable, but shouldn't be considered as a hobby.