There are people who suffer from poverty in every country. What do you think the reasons for poverty are in your country and what do you think can be done to help these impoverished people?

There is no clear definition of what a “poor country” is. The common understanding is that a country is poor if the majority of its people do not have a certain minimum living standard. Wikipedia lists a number of more quantitative criteria, ranging from low average income, or a low Gross National Income per capita, to a low Human-Development-Index [44]. This is not to say that material wealth would be the most important or the only factor to optimize. Yet, it constitutes a rough approximation for the well-being of the people. Poverty is usually also not distributed equally in the country: Certain ethnic, religious, or social groups might be particularly advantaged or disadvantaged. As Hans Rosling points out in an informative and entertaining talk about country statistics [130], the population in poor countries is usually affected very unequally by poverty. The common assumption under any definition of “poor country” is that Japan, North America, Australia, New Zealand, Western Europe, and Israel are considered “not poor”. This essay will refer to these countries as “rich”. It will refer to Western Europe, North America, Australia and New Zealand as “the West”. African countries and South-Asian countries are usually considered “poor”. This text, in particular, is inspired by my trips to Senegal, Morocco, South America, and India. Therefore, it mainly focuses on these regions as “poor”. I do not know in how far my thoughts transfer to other countries. Also, not all countries are equally poor. Some developing countries have a higher GDP than developed countries. Furthermore, some countries are behind on some accounts, but way ahead on others. Cuba, e. g. , has a lower child mortality rate than the US [130]. Therefore, this text will discuss potential reasons for poverty without claiming that they would apply equally to all poor countries. There is considerable dispute about the right term for “poor countries”. The word “poor” has a very negative connotation. Furthermore, “poor countries” are not necessarily poor: They often have vast natural resources. On the other hand, terms such as “developing” or “industrializing” are very positive. They imply that the country would actually be moving out of poverty. Unfortunately, this is not always the case. I have therefore opted for the term “less economically developed country”, or “LED