As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. with this statement?

There is no doubt that these day societies are falling prey to mass globalization. The question is, will this phenomenon lead to the total of cultural identity? In this essay I am going to discuss the impact of mass communication and transport leading to globalization and the loss of culture. In terms of disadvantages, while globalization promotes the integration of societies and has provided millions of people with new opportunities, it may also bring with it a loss of an uniqueness of the local culture, which in turn can lead to loss of identity, exclusion and even conflict. To illustrate, our own cultural tradition to taking on parents as responsibility in their old age has been taken over by the West’s actions of putting them into Old-Ages homes. In other words, due to the massive exposure through social media and ease of travelling we are forgetting our cultural teachings and adapting the norms of other societies. However, globalization has created many gateways for this generation too. Firstly, losing our cultural identity might not be too bad if the traditions we are dropping have become timeworn. In other words, neglecting customary practices such as not providing equal opportunities to both genders is one of the best outcomes of globalization. Secondly, globalization is a chance for many nations to work together towards a better future. This is because communication has become so prevalent. Also, diversity is inevitable and a part of psychological make-up. In in conclusion, although globalization as its cons, it has created a much more welcoming world for us. Therefore, I believe that globalization is a chance for many nations to transform into a civilized nation with a refreshed system of values and identities.