There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home This is because the computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper Do you think it is a positive or negative development

he advantement of the computer has bee shaped many peoples thel traditional ways of life, especially on the peoples who are in working class and school days. These peoples need to go out for wotk or study prior to the computer generalization. The development of computer makes it possible for these poeples to optionally choose either going out or staying in the home to do their work as they can use computer to access whatever resources they needed. Personally, this new way indeed makes life easier, but we at the same time, cannot ignore the negative consequences behind and this essay aim to explore the upsides and downsides of this approach. To begin with the bright side, the obvious benefit is the cost saving on transportation. Taking Hong Kong as an example, the cost of commuting is ranging from 20 to 100 dollar a day and it can impose a great burden even on middle class family, let alone the family under poverty line. This new model of working and studying can mitigate the financial pressure added on them. Besides, time saving is another benefit as the working adults and students can enjoy the time freed from transportation, especially for those who live far away from offices or schools. However, reaching the conclusion that staying home for work or studying is positive does not mean we can ignore the detrimential consequences behind. One of which regards on reduction of face to face communication. In order to contact people for e home worker or student, It is common practice to use the email, result in setting back their communication skill. The effect will be more devastating on students as it is an essential skill they must acquire in their future. Another negative impact is that the atmosphere of home is not entirely suited for working or studying, leading to distraction. For instance, surrounding with the noise such as television, radio and even people chatting, some peoples may find it difficult to keep their concentration on work or study. To sum up, staying home for work or study have both merits and demerits and it is hard to say which one is outstanding. Personally, the new working or studying mode is seemingly a prevalent trend, thereby, we should put our effort on how to tackle down or at least mitigate the negative consequence so that we can live better off.