There are more cars on the roads these days and more accidents. As a result, some politicians have suggested that people should take regular driving tests throughout their lives, rather than one single test. What do you think are the advantages of repeated driving tests? Do these outweigh the disadvantages?

The increased influx of cars on the road is leading to more road mishaps. Lawmakers are prescribing regular driving exam to curb the situation as single test is not serving the purpose. In my opinion, driving exam at regular intervals will keep the drivers skill of driving updated, along with his/ her knowledge of traffic rules and regulation. Although the system will bring with itself some necessary drawbacks, like corruption at test level. Testing of driving skills and knowledge of updated road regulation has multiple advantages to the system. Firstly, the driver has to keep himself/ herself acquainted with all updates of traffic regulations, such as how driving while talking over mobile phone, is being treated. Secondly, if driving skills are tested at regular intervals, the authorities will be in a much better position to judge whether, the drivers current skills are, appropriate enough, to allow them to drive at present city traffic conditions. As much as, drivers might not like the system, but if implemented properly, the regular drive test module will help to keep road accidents to check, to substantial level. However good or advantageous any system is, it is bound along certain pitfalls alongside. To put out the main drawback of the regular drive test system, it is imperative to discuss the issue of corruption that will spread its fangs. Drivers to successfully pass the driving test will start offering bribe to testing officials. However, strong the integrity of the officials may be, sooner or later someone, somewhere will give in to the temptation of accepting the bribe. Post same slowly it will spread throughout the testing official’s fraternity, rendering the system as good as redundant. All in all, it is safe to conclude, in light of what has been discussed above that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of regular drive test for good. Any new regulation will always come with both benefits and drawbacks, it is for us to how, the system is implemented and how we are abiding by it.