The young today spend a large amount of their leisure time in shopping centers. It is feared that this trend can bring negative influences on the youths and the society. with this view?

Some individuals are of the opinion that the recent practice of youngsters spending more time in shopping malls, will influence them and their environment negatively. I consider that, visiting the store at will by teenagers create a desperation in their minds and this is bad for the society as a whole. Firstly, spending leisure hours in the mall is not in itself a bad idea for people. However, for teenagers, it is not advisable because when they see desirable items, temptation arises within them and they are under pressure to go the extra mile, doing everything possible to purchase the product if their parents can not afford it. Evidently, this is not a good influence on the child. Therefore, such aimless visits to the malls ought to be prevented by parents. For instance, I have had to constantly reitrate to my 15 year old cousin to be contented with whatever her parents give her due to the fact that her frequent trips with her friends after school hours to the store has developed in her a craving for extravagant things. Thus, prompting her to steal her mother's money. Hence, guardians should try and engage their youths at leisure periods. Secondly, allowing youngsters to leisurely go to shopping centres not only affect the individual negatively, it also has adverse effect on the society. This is because the desperation created in the minds of these children is a seed which will germinate into theft. In addition, many of the armed robbers out there today started from just being coveteous. An example is that of a renowned hired assasin who is presently on death row. He blamed his father for indulging him too much when he was young. He arrived home whenever he pleases and nothing his parents gave him was ever enough. Lastly, parents should train their children to be good citizens and not breed rogues for the society. In conclusion, while spending free time to shop is not bad, I think parents should frown at it because it creates desperation in young minds and the society will be at the receiving end afterall