Poor people and those living in the rural area find it difficult to access university education. University education should be made easy for this group of people.

In many countries, there is inequality in the distribution of resources. As a result, students that are from less developed area are faced with an uphill task of gaining admission into universities. It is argued by some people that the university admission process for such people should be made easier. However, I disagree with this notion as such a measure will reduce standard of education and it is not sustainable. Firstly, when then entry requirements of courses in the tertiary institutions are lowered for the poor and geographical disadvantaged people, the standard of education in the colleges will fall. This is because less qualified students may be given courses they are not qualified for. For example, the north east part of Nigeria, is the poorest and most remote region, and the natives are often given incentives so as to study in the colleges. As a consequence, academic performance of students in this regional universities has been poor and many graduates from such institutions can not compete with their counterparts in other parts of Nigeria. This would have been avoided if this universities do not lower their admission criteria in favor of disadvantaged people. Secondly, Universities will not be sustainable if more advantages is given to people that are poor and from rural ares because colleges require huge fundings, which is mainly derive from tuitions. As a result, the fees from other students may have to be increased, and may still be insufficient to ensure plans such as procurement of state-of-the-art equipments and quality research. Therefore, policies geared towards ensuring easier enrollment of the economic and geographically disadvantaged, may result in an increase in the number of dropouts from the universities and closure of some departments. In conclusion, standards of university education may fall and they will become unsustainable if undue advantage is given during admission of those who are economic and geographically disadvantaged. Policies geared towards ensuring equal distribution of resources in various countries will help address challenges of students that are poor and from rural areas.