The world would be a much poorer place without color.

There is a controversial issue about the role of color in society. Some artists state that the world would be a dreary place, if it were colorless. In this essay, I agree with their point of view. Let us start with reasons why some artists argue that the world would be dull, if it had no colorful objects. The first reason is that human eyes mostly differentiate things by color. People would find it difficult to distinguish one thing from others, if they were colorless, since the eyes help to do it by means of pigments. Another reason is that all advantages of modern world would become useless. People are used to watching TV in color as well as use the Internet with amazing images, but all these benefits would lose their meaning, if they become only in black and white. As a result, it is impossible to imagine how impoverished the world would look without its colors, which enrich human life. However, some minimalists say that the world would remain the same, if it lost its colorfulness. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, many people with impaired vision still enjoy the world. For example, the blind are used to ignoring the absence of vision by compensating it with enhanced hearing ability, so other people also are capable to adjust to the colorless world. Secondly, people lived in the world close to colorless one. For instance, before colorful television became available, viewers still enjoyed TV programs in black and white, because the color just improves, but it cannot replace an interesting plot. Therefore, people can live in a colorless world, if they stop focusing only on pigments. In conclusion, even though some followers of minimalism claim that world would not become poorer, once the diversity of color disappeared in it, I think that the world become both dull and tasteless for the above mentioned reasons.