The trend of online shopping is increasing significantly What effect does it have on the environment and society in general

Shopping has become an indispensable part of everyone' s life. Presently, people have materialistic attitudes and therefore the trend of online shopping is gaining prevalence in the entire globe. Here, I would like to account for effects of this happening on the environment and society. There are multifarious negative outcomes of e-shopping on the community. First and foremost, the majority of people have become extravagant on account of online shopping. To demonstrate, nowadays, masses have tendency to visit online shopping websites where they get allured towards astonishing products that are shown in the gorgeous packaging. Besides this, shopping websites influence the buying behaviour of customers by offering heavy discounts, special offers such as buy one, get one free. As a result, people get encouraged towards unnecessary shopping and they are supposed to become spendthrift these days. Further emphasizing on my point of view, buying things in abundance is leading to excessive consumerism which further leads to the problem of rubbish. At present, people buy more and more new things that are packed into the wrappers and plastic boxes. Moreover, old consumer durables are being replaced by the new stuff. Ultimately, such wrappers, plastic material and old goods are thrown into landfill sites that are already flooded with trash. Consequently, rubbish problem has become the serious concern in modern societies. Adding to it, a considerable rise in the rubbish production degrades the quality of environment. To be specific, non biodegradable things do not decay easily at the landfill sites and keep releasing perilous gases in our surroundings. Needless to say, purity and freshness of environment is declining at an alarming rate. To recapitulate, shopping is considered the need of an hour. Taking the negative outcomes of a remarkable rise in the online shopping, it is prime duty of individuals and government to take proactive measures to ' nip this evil in the bud' .